Canon EOS 5D Mark IV Announced

Canon 5D Mark IV

Canon has announced the long-awaited 5D Mark IV. I’m always interested to see the different reactions to a new camera and it’s spec list. You always seem to have a group of ‘haters’ who are never impressed and then there are the fan boys & girls who think it’s a must buy.

I always tend to land somewhere between those two extremes.

My initial thoughts after reviewing the specs and reading about this new camera are mostly positive. I’ve been a long time user of the 5D line, starting with the 5D Mark II. I think that deciding if this camera is for you is a personal decision that will depend on the types of things you shoot and your priorities. For me, this camera (just as it’s predecessors did) represent the best of both the still photography and videography worlds in a single body.

I find myself spending half of my time shooting stills and the other half shooting video. In my work, both are very important. Some of my colleagues have recently left canon and moved to the Sony mirrorless cameras, but I find that is a cumbersome solution. The lens selection with the Sony cameras is weaker and many of us already have large investments in Canon lenses that we love. Sure, you can adapt many Canon lenses for use on the Sony’s or even Panasonic cameras, but the active adapters are expensive and imperfect. I’d rather use my Canon lenses natively on a Canon body.

My other complaint with the Sony or Panasonic micro 4/3 bodies is how miserable they are for shooting stills for extended periods. I find these cameras too small to hold comfortably and to stabilize properly. If I’m going to shoot an event, I need something that feels good in my hands and has a fast and reliable response. I just don’t get that feeling from the Sony a7 series or even the Panasonic GH4.

I’ve even tried carrying both. I’ve packed a GH4 which is a superior video camera to the 5D Mark III, but time and again I find myself just using the 5D for video instead of going to the hassle of setting up a second body.

Do I feel like the Mark IV is the perfect solution? No. I agree that Canon is way behind. They don’t seem to be pushing the boundaries at all. But I am excited for a 5D series camera with touchscreen, GPS, Wifi, and 4k Video capabilities. For me, it’s not perfect, but it’s the best option for the things I shoot.

Here is a roundup of some of the things other bloggers are saying about the 5D Mark IV:

First, the Canon Announcement

Scott Kelby – JUST ANNOUNCED: THE NEW CANON EOS 5D MARK IV – IT’S FINALLY HERE!

Fstoppers – Canon Announces the 5D Mark IV With Focus Fine-Tuning in Post and New Lenses

EOSHD – Negative take on this camera’s specs

DPReview – Canon EOS 5D Mark IV First Impressions Review

So what do you think? Is Canon too little too late, or do you like what you see? Let me know in the comments.

 

Leave a comment