Photographing the Hurricane Harvey Aftermath

Church damaged from Hurricane Harvey’s strong winds

A week after Hurricane Harvey, the wettest tropical hurricane on record in the contiguous United States flooded thousands of homes and displaced over 30,000 people, I had the chance to join a group of 100 volunteers that met up in Victoria, Texas to help with the relief effort.

The devastation was heartbreaking. Many people who were not effected by strong winds had to contend with flooding. While walking through some of the suburbs, I met this young boy who wanted me to see his bedroom. They had to cut out the damaged drywall, flooring, and molding furniture.

The homeowners with flood damage were told to put all of their damaged belongings on the curb where they will be picked up later and hauled to the land fill.

Here is a video I created of this experience:

2 thoughts on “Photographing the Hurricane Harvey Aftermath

  1. Great article and video Mark, encouraging. I smiled when I saw the signature drone shot : )

    That last little girl, it’s funny but every country I’ve travelled to, rich or poor, has a little girl just like her with some sort of “princess” t-shirt on.

Leave a comment