Creating Meaningful Work

Children of Payatas

A few weeks ago I had an experience that if I’m being honest, I’m still trying to process. I had the opportunity to travel to the Philippines and visit some amazing people in extremely humble circumstances. I don’t think I’m a good enough writer to fully portray the totality of the thoughts and feelings I had during and after this experience, but I’ll try to paint a picture.

My assignment in the Philippines was to document a charitable effort that my company facilitates once a year. In past years we’ve built schools in Peru and Mexico. This year our group brought food to the needy and spend time playing games with orphaned children.

On a scouting trip before the main group of volunteers arrived, I traveled to the village of Payatas. Parts of this village are built on a dump site. It’s staggering. If you’ve ever been to a garbage dump you know the unforgettable smell. The odor is compounded by the high humidity and sweltering heat. It’s inescapable.

The very garbage that most of us get rid of without a second thought is the source of food, shelter, and commerce for hundreds if not thousands of men, woman, and children. Pagpag is a common meal in this area – meat scavenged from other people’s discarded leftovers. Take a look at this short video to see the process.

Despite the conditions, the children seem clean and happy. We met a young boy and his mother at a community church who agreed to let us interview them. The boy, named Racin reminded me of my own oldest son.

A village built in a dump site is so completely different than anything I’m used to seeing. The family led us down a narrow passage between shacks built with discarded cardboard, plywood, and sheet metal. As we stepped through raw sewage, avoiding a sickly-looking stray dog we saw mothers bathing their young babies with rainwater collected in buckets and old tires.

We arrived at Racin’s home. What I saw changed me. Racin’s mother and two siblings don’t have running water, electricity, security, or any of the luxuries so many of us enjoy. The youngest baby was miserable. He was teething, just like my youngest daughter.

payatas

They do their best to stay clean but when you are living on dirt, garbage, and broken concrete, it’s a challenge. This little family sleeps on cardboard and rags.

A short time into my visit, I received a notification on my smartphone. My “smart” sprinkler system back home in the United States was notifying me that it had just finished dumping gallons of fresh, drinkable water on my acer of grass. The irony was immediately apparent.

I went back to the hotel that night and saw everything differently. My hotel room would have been a palace compared to where those kids were going to bed that night. I thought about the breakfast buffet and the amazing abundance available to me. I thought about my own kids. My thoughts returned to Racin and his family with nowhere else to go and no way to escape. I lost it.

I felt pathetic and helpless. I wondered why so many people need so much help and why the rest of us can’t give it to them. I wondered why war is a thing. I wondered how anyone can get good rest at night knowing that there are people – just like me and you – who are hungry and suffering.

I still wonder those things.

The images I took on this trip are some of the most meaningful images I’ve ever taken. I don’t know if they mean much to anyone else, but for me they represent a paradigm shift for myself. I’ll never take anything for granted again, and I’ll do my best to help others however I can.

I hope the images I took will help motivate others to do the same.

I’d like to end this post with a challenge. Find something you are passionate about and use photography to share that passion.

Create meaningful work.

What are you passionate about? What photos are most meaningful to you? Tell me about it in the comments.

11 thoughts on “Creating Meaningful Work

  1. What an impact. The mission, and the opportunity for personal growth for the participants. Thank you for sharing! The group of children at 0:25 then again at 4:00 are a real reflection of the change this program brought. Skeptical at first, but ending with joyous and beautiful smiles.

    In response to what I am passionate about…family, and community. My mother is 67 and is afflicted with early-onset Alzheimer’s. My father-in-law is 91 years old and was a PoW in WWII. Between my wife and I we have 8 nieces/nephews, and 7 great nieces/nephews!

    As my wife and I do not have children, we are able to spend a lot of our time helping our parents, and spend time with our nieces/nephews. This is hugely important in our life as we feel that part of the decline in American society is the breakdown of the traditional family support structure, and the dependence on government intervention. This opinion is what leads to my second passion… community.

    Being a combat veteran I have a very vested interest in American society. I still have a deep passion for our country, and want to see it return to a position of international respect and esteem. I feel the way to accomplish that goal is to strengthen the societal posts that have always made America successful. By running a small family business and participating in local community support efforts I hope to influence others feelings about our society. My hope is to bolster pride and understanding that WE THE PEOPLE make America the best country to live in.

    Trying to exemplify pride in our country and showing everyone around me that they matter simply because they exist has proven to be a very effective method for me to open communications with folks of many different walks of life. This has afforded me many opportunities to learn and gain perspective on issues that I have not had to endure in my walk through life.

    Both of these stated passions are results of my primary passion in life which is to live a Christ-like life. The call for compassion and dedication to a selfless mentality that I believe to be the foundation of a solid Christian lifestyle have lead me to this place in my life. With all of the difficult aspects of life it has become a personal mantra to find the POSITIVE VALUE in every situation.

    The photos that have meant the most to me in my short time practicing photography as a hobby have been the ones that have communicated the emotion of a situation. Regardless of what emotion it was, the connection through photographs has been very impactful. Learning how to concentrate on the photography side of a situation, but still be “in the moment” will be a large part of my maturation as a photographer.

  2. Thank you for your post and video, and for the challenge of remembering the rest of the world. The first running scene was what got me most : )

      • I just watched and shared the pagpag video. Blechh. Ugg. I’ve been in Africa and worked with people who have been brutalized from past genocide wars, and it’s the worst of humanity, but pagpag is.. happening, now, for money so people can eat. Awful. I don’t throw up and I still think I might : (

        Thanks again for sharing.

  3. I lived in Asia for 61/2 and saw the poverty you did. I took tons of pics and was so excited to share them when I moved home. Unfortunately, people were not as passionate about them as I was having no connection to them.

  4. Pingback: What are your Top 3 Photographs? - Camera Stupid

Leave a comment