Avoiding Phantom Quadcopter (Drone) Crashes and Flyaways

Aerial Photography

One of the reasons I love photography is that it allows for exploration into a vast world of image creation. There are many facets of photography that I love, but one of my favorites is Aerial Photography.

I was a RC airplane enthusiast long before I was a photographer. As cameras get smaller and lighter and RC airplanes and quadcopters become more powerful and easy to fly, a convergence of the two has created an explosion of interest into aerial photography. It’s easy to see why. Aerial photography is addicting and fun. For less than the cost of an airline ticket you can virtually soar through the skies and catch glimpses of things in a new and intimate way.

I’ve been capturing aerial photography and videography with the use of quadcopters for a couple years now and have started receiving so many questions about the topic that I’ve decided to put together an online video course. My Aerial Videography and Photography Course is now live!  Check it out!

This Podcast Episode is about how to avoid Phantom quadcopter crashes and flyaways. Inside I give some practical tips as well as a case study with video from a near miss with a skyscraper due to operator error.

Leave a comment